Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

TV: The Golden Toilet

2002-12-11 - 11:09 a.m.

So lately I have this idea that I want to cut TV out of my life as much as possible. Not that I watch a ton of it anyway, but I've been thinking about how most people who are productive in life and art are usually not people who circle things they want to watch in the TV Guide.

So. Last night I had one plan, which was to finish the book I've been reading. There were other plans, of course, which involved creative projects, but I like to focus on one goal at time--that way, when the others get skipped, I can say, "But see? I still did that one thing, at least!"

Anyway. Instead of completing even that one goal, I ended up watching: "The World's Greatest Bathrooms;" an episode of the new season of "The Osbournes," (which I swore I would never watch because for some reason I automatically stopped caring after I saw the whole first season--overkill, ya think?); and an MTV "True Life" documentary about being young and going to fat camp.

I realized then that if you're the kind of person who spends an hour of your life watching a show about gold-encrusted toilets, your lofty goals about creating and completing art are only pretensions you depend on to make up for the fact that you're a couch-dweller just like everyone else. But then again, that fat camp thing really got me thinking. And El Jefe (the Significant Other), has decided we're going to take a trip around the world to visit (and "make deposits in") each one of those bathrooms. See, TV can be culturally enhancing!

that was then - this is now

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!